How can I tell if someone has read my message?

If you see two blue check marks next to your sent message then the recipient has read your message. In a group chat or broadcast message, the check marks will turn blue when every participant has read your message.

Message Info

For any message that you send, you will be able to see a Message Info screen, displaying the details of when your message was delivered, read or played by the recipient(s).

To see the Message Info screen

If you have a touch screen phone:

  1. Open a chat with a contact or group.
  2. Tap and hold on your sent message.
  3. Select Message Info.

If you have a physical keyboard phone:

  1. Open a chat with a contact or group.
  2. Highlight your sent message.
  3. Select Options > Message Info.

The Message Info screen shows

  • Delivered when your media is delivered to your recipient's phone, but the recipient has not yet seen it.
  • Read or Seen when the recipient has read your message or seen your picture, audio file, or video. For a Voice Message, the recipient has seen but has not yet played it.
  • Played when the recipient has played your Voice Message.

Please note that when a participant leaves a group, the Message Info screen will still show the original information with all participants, including the participant who left the group.

If you do not see two blue check marks next to your sent message

  • The recipient may not have opened your conversation.
  • The recipient may be using an outdated version of WhatsApp.
  • You or the recipient may be experiencing connection issues.
  • You or the recipient may have disabled Read Receipts in their Privacy settings.

Learn more about the Message Info screen on: Android | iPhone | Windows Phone | BlackBerry | Nokia S60 | BlackBerry 10

Cheers,
WhatsApp Support Team