WhatsApp Status allows you to share photos, videos and animated GIFs that disappear after 24 hours. In order to send and receive status updates to and from your contacts, both you and your contacts must have each other's phone numbers saved in your address books.
To view someone's status update, tap the Status tab and select a contact's status. To reply to one of your contact's status updates, tap Reply at the bottom of the screen while viewing their status.
To add a status update:
You can also add a caption and personalize your status updates by adding emojis, text and freehanded drawings to your photos and videos. Learn how in our FAQ.
Your status updates cannot be seen by people whose numbers are not saved in your phone's address book. You can choose to share your status updates with all of your contacts, or with selected contacts only. By default, your status updates are set to be shared with all your contacts.
To change your status privacy:
Note: Changes to your privacy settings won't affect status updates that you've already sent.
If you have disabled Read Receipts, you will not be able to see who's viewed your status update. If a contact has disabled Read Receipts, you will not be able to see that they have viewed your status update. For more info on Read Receipts, please read this article.
Status updates automatically disappear after 24 hours. You can also manually delete a status update, which removes it from your contacts' phones.
To manually delete a status update:
You can mute the status updates of a particular contact so they won't appear at the top of the status list anymore.
To mute a status update:
To unmute a status update:
WhatsApp Support Team