How do I delete messages or chats?

You can delete individual messages, conversations, groups, or your entire chat history by following the steps below. Deleted messages are permanently deleted from your phone. Read this article for information on backing up chats that you wish to save.

To delete one or more messages from a conversation:

  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat window with the message you want to delete.
  2. Tap and hold on the message.
  3. Optionally, tap Select More from the right pane and tap on more messages to select multiple messages.
  4. Tap Delete at the bottom of the right pane.

To delete an individual or group chat:

  1. In the main chats screen, tap and hold on the chat you wish to delete.
  2. Optionally, tap Select More from the right pane and tap on more chat rows to select multiple chats.
  3. Tap Delete at the bottom of the right pane.
  4. Confirm Delete chat or Delete and Exit Group by tapping Delete.

To delete or clear your entire chat history:

  1. Go to WhatsApp > Settings (Swipe down from the top of the screen to access the Settings) > Media Settings
  2. Scroll to the bottom and tap Delete all conversations or Clear all conversations
    • Delete all conversations will delete all conversations and all messages inside of them. You will still be in your groups and they will be visible on your Chats list.
    • Clear all conversations will delete all messages but leave the conversations in the Chats list.

Learn how to delete messages or chats on: Android | iPhone | BlackBerry | Nokia S40 | Nokia S60 | Windows Phone.

Cheers,
WhatsApp Support Team