How do I send media, contacts, or location?

To send media, contacts or location:

  1. Open the chat window in WhatsApp with the contact you would like to send to.
  2. Tap the Send Media button (pictured below).
  3. Select the type of media you would like to share.

Sharing Options

Take a new photo or video

Tap Take Photo or Video to take a new photo or video with your iPhone's Camera. You will have the option to preview and add a caption before sending the photo or video. You will need to grant the app permission to your iPhone's Camera in iPhone Settings > Privacy > Camera.
Note: Videos that are recorded using WhatsApp are limited to 16MB.

Send an existing photo or video

Tap Photo/Video Library to select one or more photos or videos from your iPhone's Camera Roll or albums. Tap the + button to select multiple photos or videos at once. You will have the option to preview and add captions to your photos and videos before sending them. Note that videos are limited to 16MB, and WhatsApp will give you the option to trim videos over that size prior to sending. You will need to grant the app permission to your iPhone's Photos in iPhone Settings > Privacy > Photos.

Share location

Tap Share Location to display the Send Location screen. This screen will populate a list of nearby places that you can select from, or you can search for a specific place nearby. When you share a named place, a link will be sent to your recipient(s) with additional information about the place, using data provided by Google or Foursquare. Alternatively, you can send a pin of your current map location by tapping Send Your Location. You will need to grant the app permission to your iPhone's Location Services in iPhone Settings > Privacy > Location Services.

Share a contact

Tap Share Contact from the sharing menu, then select a contact from the contact picker. By default, all details stored in the phone's address book for the selected contact will be shared. You can tap items on the Contact Info screen to deselect information that you do not want to be shared. Tap Send to send a vCard file containing all of the selected contact details. You will need to grant the app permission to your iPhone's Contacts in iPhone Settings > Privacy > Contacts.

Learn more about sharing on: Android | Windows Phone | Nokia S40 | BlackBerry | Nokia S60 | BlackBerry 10

Cheers,
WhatsApp Support Team