How do I use Group Chat?

Group Chat lets you chat with up to 256 people at once. It's a great way to stay in touch with family, friends or colleagues. Learn more about Group Chat features below:

Creating a group

You may create an unlimited number of groups. To create a group:

  1. Go to the Chats screen, select Options > New Group.
  2. Type in a group name. This will be the name of the group that all participants will see.
  3. Add an icon for the group by tapping or clicking on the empty photo box. This will show up next to the group in your Chats list.
  4. Select Next to continue.
  5. Add group participants by selecting +, or by typing the name of the contact.
  6. Select Create when you are finished.

Adding participants

You must be a group admin to add participants to an existing Group Chat. A group can have 256 participants. To add participants:

  1. Open the Group Chat.
  2. Select Options > Group info > Add Participant .
  3. Select the participant(s) and tap Ok.

Removing participants

You must be a group admin to remove participants from an existing Group Chat. To remove participants:

  1. Open the Group Chat.
  2. Select Options > Group info.
  3. Tap or click on the contact's name and select Remove participant.

Assigning admins to a group

Any admin in the group can make a participant an admin. A group can have an unlimited number of admins. To make a participant an admin:

  1. Open the Group Chat.
  2. Select Options > Group Info.
  3. Tap or click on the contact's name.
  4. Select Add (name) to group admins > Yes.

Changing the group name

Any of the group's participants can change its name. To do so:

  1. Open the Group Chat.
  2. Select Options > Group Info > Options > Change name.
  3. Type a new name in the text field.

Changing the group icon

Any participant of the group can change its icon. To do so:

  1. Open the Group Chat.
  2. Go to Options > Group Info and click or tap on the current group icon.
  3. Select Options and choose to use your camera, gallery, or search the web for a new image.

Muting group notifications

You can mute group notifications for a specified period of time. You will still receive the messages sent to the group, but your phone will not notify you when they are received. To mute a group:

  1. Open the Group Chat.
  2. Go to Options > Group info > Mute group.
  3. Select the interval of silence that you want.

Exiting a group

If you exit a group, you will be removed from the group but will still see it in your Chats list and you will be able to read the chat history. If you are the only group admin and you exit a group, a participant is chosen at random to become the new admin. To exit a group:

  1. Open the Group Chat.
  2. Go to Options > Group Info > Exit group.
  3. Select Exit group again from the popup when asked to confirm.

Deleting a group

After you exit a group, you will see the option to delete the group. When you delete the group, you will no longer see the group in your Chats list and the chat history will be erased. To delete a group:

  1. Open the Group Chat.
  2. Go to Options > Group Info > Delete group > Yes.

Learn more about Group Chat on: Android | iPhone | Windows Phone | Nokia S40 | BlackBerry | BlackBerry 10

Cheers,
WhatsApp Support Team