How do I use Group Chat?

Group Chat lets you chat with up to 100 people at once. It's a great way to stay in touch with family, friends or colleagues. Learn more about Group Chat features below:

Creating a group

You may create an unlimited number of groups. To create a group:

  1. Go to the Chats screen, swipe up from the bottom of the screen or select Options > New Group.
  2. Type in a group subject. This will be the name of the group that all participants will see.
  3. Add an icon for the group by going to Options > Set Photo (physical keyboard) or tapping Set Photo (touch screen).
  4. Select Next to continue.
  5. Add group participants by selecting Add Participants, selecting the contact's name and then clicking on Save.
  6. Select Create when you are finished.

Adding participants

You must be a group admin to add participants to an existing Group Chat. A group can have 100 participants. To add participants:

If you have a touch screen phone:

  1. In the Group Chat window, tap on the group subject to open Group Info screen.
  2. Go to the people tab , scroll down and tap Add Participant.
  3. Select participant(s) > Tap Yes.

If you have a physical keyboard phone:

  1. In the Group Chat window, click Options > Group Info.
  2. Inside the Group Info screen, go to the people tab > Options > Add.
  3. Select participant(s) > Click Yes.

Removing participants

You must be a group admin to remove participants from an existing Group Chat. To remove participants:

If you have a touch screen phone:

  1. In the Group Chat window, tap on the group subject to open Group Info screen.
  2. Go to the people tab .
  3. Press and hold on a participant's name > Tap Remove (name) > Yes.

If you have a physical keyboard phone:

  1. In the Group Chat window, select Options > Group Info.
  2. Inside the Group Info screen, go to the people tab .
  3. Highlight the participant's name > Options > Select Remove (name) > Yes.

Assigning admins to a group

Any admin in the group can make a participant an admin. A group can have an unlimited number of admins. To make a participant an admin:

If you have a touch screen phone:

  1. In the Group Chat window, tap on the group subject to open Group Info screen.
  2. Go to the people tab .
  3. Press and hold on a participant's name > Tap Make Admin > Yes.

If you have a physical keyboard phone:

  1. In the Group Chat window, select Options > Group Info.
  2. Inside the Group Info screen, go to the people tab .
  3. Highlight the participant's name > Options > Select Make Admin > Yes.

Changing the group subject

Any of the group's participants can change its subject. To do so:

If you have a touch screen phone:

  1. Open the Group Chat.
  2. Tap on the group subject to open Group Info screen.
  3. Type a new subject in the text field under Group Subject.

If you have a physical keyboard phone:

  1. Open the Group Chat.
  2. Go to Options > Group Info.
  3. Type a new subject in the text field under Group Subject.

Changing the group icon

Any of the group's participants can change its icon. To do so:

If you have a touch screen phone:

  1. Open the Group Chat.
  2. Tap on the group subject to open Group Info screen.
  3. Tap on the people icon next to Group Icon.
  4. Select an existing photo from Gallery or take a new photo with your Camera.

If you have a physical keyboard phone:

  1. Open the Group Chat.
  2. Go to Options > Group Info > Options > Set Icon.
  3. Select an existing photo from Gallery or take a new photo with your Camera.

Muting group notifications

You can mute group notifications for a specified period of time. You will still receive the messages sent to the group, but your phone will not notify you when they are received. To mute a group:

If you have a touch screen phone:

  1. Open the Group Chat.
  2. Swipe up from the bottom of the screen to access Options > Tap Mute.
  3. Select how long you would like notifications to be muted.

If you have a physical keyboard phone:

  1. Open the Group Chat.
  2. Go to Options > Mute.
  3. Select how long you would like notifications to be muted.

Exiting a group

If you exit a group, you will be removed from the group but will still see it in your Chats list and you will be able to read the chat history. If you are the only group admin and you exit a group, a participant is chosen at random to become the new admin. To exit a group:

If you have a touch screen phone:

  1. In the Chats list, press and hold on the group.
  2. Tap Exit Group > Yes.

If you have a physical keyboard phone:

  1. In the Chats list, highlight the group.
  2. Click Options > Exit Group > Yes.

Deleting a group

After you exit a group, you will see the option to delete the group. When you delete the group, you will no longer see the group in your Chats list and the chat history will be erased. To delete a group:

If you have a touch screen phone:

  1. In the Chats list, press and hold on the group.
  2. Tap Delete > Yes.

If you have a physical keyboard phone:

  1. In the Chats list, highlight the group.
  2. Click Options > Delete > Yes.

Learn about Group Chat on: Android | iPhone | BlackBerry | Nokia S60 | Windows Phone | BlackBerry 10.

Cheers,
WhatsApp Support Team