Group Chat lets you chat with up to 256 people at once. It's a great way to stay in touch with family, friends or colleagues. Learn more about Group Chat features below:
You may create an unlimited number of groups. To create a group:
You must be a group admin to add participants to an existing Group Chat. A group can have 256 participants. To add participants:
If you are the group admin, you can invite people to join a group simply by sharing a link with them. To share a group invite link:
The admin can use the Revoke link option at any time to make the previous link invalid and create a new link. Anyone with WhatsApp can follow an invite link to join this group, so only share it with people you trust.
Note: Use this feature only with trusted individuals. It is possible for someone to forward the link to other people. If so, those other people can also join the group. In that case, the group admin will not be asked to approve them before they join.
You must be a group admin to remove participants from an existing Group Chat. To remove participants:
Any admin in the group can make a participant an admin. A group can have an unlimited number of admins. To make a participant an admin:
Any of the group's participants can change its subject. To do so:
Any of the group's participants can change its icon. To do so:
You can mute a group for a specified period of time. You will still receive messages sent to the group, but your phone will not vibrate or make noise when they are received. To mute a group:
If you exit a group, you will be removed from the group but will still see it in your Chats list, and you will be able to read the chat history. If you are the only group admin and you exit a group, a participant is chosen at random to become the new admin. To exit a group:
After you exit a group, you will see the option to delete the group. When you delete the group, you will no longer see the group in your Chats list and the chat history will be erased. To delete a group (after exiting a group):
WhatsApp Support Team