What does last seen and online status mean exactly?
Online and last seen status tell you if your contacts are online, or the last time they were using WhatsApp.
Online status means that contact has WhatsApp open in the foreground on their device and is connected to the internet. However, it does not necessarily mean they have read your message.
Last seen status refers to the last time the contact used WhatsApp. Through our privacy settings, you have the option to control who can see your last seen status. Please note you cannot hide your online status. Learn more about privacy settings on: Android | iPhone | Windows Phone | Nokia S40 | BlackBerry | Nokia S60 | BlackBerry 10
There are a few reasons why you may not be able to see a contact's last seen status:
- They may have set their privacy settings to hide this information.
- You may have set your privacy settings to not share your last seen status. If you do not share your last seen status, you cannot see other people's last seen status.
- You may have been blocked.
WhatsApp Support Team