How do I delete messages or chats?

You can delete individual messages, conversations, or your entire chat history by following these steps. These steps apply to individual and group chats.

Deleted messages are permanently deleted from your phone. Read this article for information on exporting chats that you wish to save.

To delete a single message from a conversation

  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat window with the message you want to delete.
  2. Highlight the message.
  3. Press the 'del' key on your keyboard.

To delete an individual or group chat

  1. In the Chats screen, highlight the chat you wish to delete.
  2. Press the button and select Delete chat or Delete and Exit Group.

To delete your entire chat history and remove yourself from all groups

  1. Go to WhatsApp > Settings.
  2. Scroll to the bottom and select Advanced Settings.
  3. Press the button and select Delete Chat History.

NOTE: Using Delete Chat History will delete all chats from the Chats screen, as well as remove yourself from all groups.

To delete all messages in a conversation without closing the chat window or leaving the group

  1. Open the chat.
  2. Press the button and select Clear conversation.

To clear all chat history, but continue to participate in groups

  1. Go to WhatsApp > Settings.
  2. Scroll to the bottom and select Advanced Settings.
  3. Press the button and select Clear All Chats.

NOTE: Using Clear All Chats will not remove you from any groups.

Learn how to delete messages or chats on: Android | iPhone | Nokia S40 | Nokia S60 | Windows Phone | BlackBerry 10.

Cheers,
WhatsApp Support Team